Posted by: Rocky | December 1, 2009

It’s A Wonderful Life Part 1

 

Hello, Bedford Falls! Merry Christmas! Merry Christmas, movie house! Merry Christmas, Emporium! Merry Christmas, you wonderful old Building and Loan! Hey! Merry Christmas, Mr. Potter!

 

To me, there is not really a contest when it comes to Holiday films. My unequivocal favorite is Frank Capra’s It’s A Wonderful Life. It is a family tradition to watch this film, as it is my dads favorite movie of all time.  It is a film which only gets better for me every single year. The concept is brilliant, and George Bailey, in my mind, is one of the greatest characters ever created. Although nominated for 5 Academy Awards, the film did not win any. Time has truly done justice to the film as it sits at number 11 on the American Film Institute’s top 100 films and number 1 on AFI’s top Inspirational films. Just rereading some quotes from the film has brought me back, and I am really excited for this years viewing. We all know the story: George Bailey, about to commit suicide on Christmas Eve, is saved by his guardian angel, Clarence. Clarence shows George what his hometown of Bedford Falls would be like if he had never been born, proving to him the amount of lives he touches and the differences he makes in his community.  Jimmy Stewart plays the role of George Bailey with such heartwarming pasion, that by the end of the film, you want to cry/laugh   with him.  Over and over again this film will impact people.  I will post some of my favorite scenes in the next few days.

I'm shakin' the dust of this crummy little town off my feet and I'm gonna see the world. Italy, Greece, the Parthenon, the Colosseum. Then, I'm comin' back here and go to college and see what they know... And then I'm gonna build things. I'm gonna build airfields, I'm gonna build skyscrapers a hundred stories high, I'm gonna build bridges a mile long...

Leave a Reply

Categories

