Posted by: Rocky | November 18, 2009

Film&Me

Watching movies is one of my favorite things to do.  Nothing to me is better than getting totally engrossed in a good film.  My love of film started as a freshman in high school when I discovered the American Film Institute’s Top 100 films list.  I always liked movies, but really wanted to see the best ones.  I began at the top of the list (Citizen Kane) and worked my way through it.  Although I didnt always understand/enjoy the films I watched, I took pride in watching the “best” films (pretentious superiority makes me feel great!)  I would go down the list and put my ranking (out of 10) and enjoyed reading through and memorizing these lists.  Soon after I discovered the AFI lists for Top 100 Comedies and Top 100 Thrillers, which urged me to watch more and more great films.  As soon as I would make a dent in one list, I discovered another, such as Roger Ebert’s Great Films as well as the IMDB’s top 250 films.  Although my film watching in the last few years has waned due to academics, I still love the Oscar race and try to see as many contenders as possible over Winter Break. This blog will explore what I perceive to be great films and why. Booyakasha, respect.

Leave a Reply

Categories

